Sir James McKay House, 18 Ravelston Park, Edinburgh, EH4 3DX
Sir James McKay House is located in Edinburgh, approximately one mile from the city centre. Following its purchase in 1985 from the Faith Mission Bible College, the building, which had started life in 1906 as the grand family home of a local merchant, was refurbished by Grand Lodge and was opened on 4th July 1989 by His Royal Highness, The Duke of Edinburgh, KT. The stone exterior, high ceilings, ornate cornices and spacious, bright rooms define the building but perhaps the most striking feature is the large stained glass window which is almost the first thing seen by visitors as they enter. The window was installed in memory of the first owner’s wife, Letitia. The inscription reads ‘Post Tenebras Lux’ which translates as ‘After Darkness Light’.
Gillian Hunter is the registered Manager of Sir James MacKay House with a team of 25 full and part time Staff who are dedicated to supporting the Residents. Gillian joined the Staff Team in 1993 as a trainee care assistant. We encourage internal promotion and, after gaining a number of workplace qualifications and reaching a senior grade, Gillian was appointed to the position of Manager in 2001.
The Marcus Humphrey House, Quarrier’s Village, Bridge of Weir, PA11 3SX
In 1986 Grand Lodge purchased the Elise Hospital building, located in Quarrier’s Village, a beautiful conservation area, offering picturesque and peaceful surroundings. Following a programme of extensive refurbishment, the Home was officially opened in 1990 as a care home for older people and renamed The Marcus Humphrey House. The home is named after James Malcolm Marcus Humphrey of Dinnet, a Past Grand Master, Honorary President of the Scottish Masonic Homes and the current Chairman of the Benevolence and Care Committee.
The Marcus Humphrey House stands in the beautiful and tranquil setting of Quarrier’s Village in Bridge of Weir. Quarrier’s Village was developed to create a safe environment for poverty stricken, homeless children in the late nineteenth century and is a conservation area with a rich history. The Home was opened in 1990 by Lady Fanny MacGregor, wife of the then Grand Master Mason, Brigadier Sir Gregor MacGregor of MacGregor, Bart. and now has a listing from Historic Scotland, having been designated as Grade ‘C’ several years ago. The building is more than 100 years old, having reached its centenary in 2012. The Marcus Humphrey House is the former Elise Hospital, which was opened in 1912 and named in memory of Elise Glen Coates by her husband Thomas, a local textile merchant and philanthropist who had already contributed to the facilities in Quarrier’s Village via the provision of a shop, laundry and craft workshops. Shortly after the opening of the Home, a stone carving depicting the name was commissioned by Grand Lodge and this was handmade by apprentice stone masons; it is sited above the entrance to the Home and is a much admired feature of the Home.
Wilma McDonald is the registered Manager of the Marcus Humphrey House with a team of 31 full and part time Staff dedicated to supporting its Residents. Wilma joined Grand Lodge in 1990 as a care assistant. As mentioned above, the Organisation supports internal promotion where possible and, after gaining various workplace qualifications, Wilma was appointed to the post of Day Care Co-ordinator in 2009, before becoming Manager in 2011.