The Marcus Humphrey House stands in the beautiful and tranquil setting of Quarrier’s Village in Bridge of Weir. Quarrier’s Village was developed to create a safe environment for poverty stricken, homeless children in the late nineteenth century and is a conservation area with a rich history. The Home was opened in 1990 by Lady Fanny MacGregor, wife of the then Grand Master Mason, Brigadier Sir Gregor MacGregor of MacGregor, Bart. and now has a listing from Historic Scotland, having been designated as Grade ‘C’ several years ago. The building is more than 100 years old, having reached its centenary in 2012. The Marcus Humphrey House is the former Elise Hospital, which was opened in 1912 and named in memory of Elise Glen Coates by her husband Thomas, a local textile merchant and philanthropist who had already contributed to the facilities in Quarrier’s Village via the provision of a shop, laundry and craft workshops. Shortly after the opening of the Home, a stone carving depicting the name was commissioned by Grand Lodge and this was handmade by apprentice stone masons; it is sited above the entrance to the Home and is a much admired feature of the Home.